How Do I Delete Dropbox App From My Mac

Once you have completed the steps above, the Dropbox app will have been uninstalled from your Mac. Your files will remain in the Dropbox folder on your Mac and in your Dropbox account, but they will no longer sync. To remove the Dropbox folder from your Mac, drag it to the Trash. Remember to back up your. Uninstall the desktop app on Mac OS X Follow the steps to sign out of Dropbox on your Mac. Click the Dropbox icon from the menu bar again. Click your avatar (profile picture.

You can delete or permanently delete any file or folder in your Dropbox account, even if it’s shared, as long as you’re the owner. Find out how to know who the owner of a file or folder is.

How Do I Delete Dropbox App From My macbook

Delete a file or folder

Follow the instructions below to delete a file or folder from your Dropbox account on dropbox.com, the Dropbox desktop app, or the Dropbox mobile app. Deleted files or folders can be restored within a certain window of time, depending on your Dropbox plan.

On dropbox.com

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click All files in the left sidebar.
  3. Hover over the file or folder and click the '' (ellipsis).
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click Delete again to confirm.

In the desktop app

To delete a file or folder in the Dropbox desktop app window:

  1. Open the Dropbox desktop app window.
  2. Click the file or folder you’d like to delete.
  3. Hover over the file or folder and click the '…' (ellipsis).
  4. Click Delete.

To delete a file or folder in File Explorer (Windows) or Finder (Mac), right-click the file or folder and click Delete (Windows) or Move to Trash Mac address lookup apps. (Mac).

In the Dropbox mobile app

  1. Open the Dropbox mobile app.
  2. Tap the“⁝” or “” (vertical ellipsis or ellipsis) next to the file or folder you’d like to delete.
  3. Tap Delete.

Permanently delete a file or folder

Follow the instructions below to permanently delete a file or folder on dropbox.com. Permanently deleted files and folders can’t be restored.

You can permanently delete any file or folder that you own. You can only permanently delete files and folders that you don’t own if:

  • You’re the admin of a Dropbox Business team.
  • You’re not an admin, but you’re the only person who has taken any actions on or edited the file or folder.

Notes:

  • If you’re a member of a Dropbox Business team, your admin may have limited your ability to permanently delete files and folders, including with a data retention policy.
  • Deleted files don't count against your storage quota, so permanently deleting them won’t free up space.
  • If other Dropbox users have a copy of the files that you permanently delete, their copies won’t be deleted.

How Do I Delete Dropbox App From My Mac Os

To permanently delete a file or folder on dropbox.com:

How Do I Delete Dropbox App From My Mac

  1. Follow the instructions in the above section to delete the file or folder on dropbox.com.
  2. Click Deleted files in the left sidebar.
  3. Check the box next to the file or folder you’d like to permanently delete.
  4. Click Permanently delete.
  5. Click Permanently delete again to confirm.
    • Note: If you’re on a Business team and don’t see Permanently delete, your admin may have limited your ability to permanently delete files and folders, including with a data retention policy.